Skip to main content

How long to pass PSM exam?

Last post 05:39 pm October 24, 2017 by Curtis Slough
6 replies
04:44 pm October 22, 2017

Hi

I am new to project management and would like to improve my skills. My workplace is okay for me to pass this certification but I need to provide a realistic timeframe.

I will probably do self teaching before passing the exam with all the useful ressources you advised on. I am guessing it depends on what type of learner one is, but could you give me approximately how many hours it takes? To set up a training plan, I would need to have an idea of a timeframe and I havent been able to find this information.

Many thanks,

Marion

09:21 pm October 23, 2017

In reality, the best course of action is to take the PSM training class. I learned a great deal from the class and absolutely attribute my success in passing the PSM1 exam the first time with taking this course. I also ready the Scrum Guide at least 5 times before I took the exam. If you opt out of taking an official training class, you would probably need 20+ hours of study and practice, unless you're already well versed in the Scrum framework; then it would be less. 

07:58 am October 24, 2017

Hi Curtis,

Thanks a lot for your reply. I hear your point but I cannot attend class as their are none in my area (only Paris in France). Hence having to do it by myself - although I am definitely going to try to vary my sources.

Thanks for your tips ! for a Project manager is the PSM 1, 2 and 3 certifications enough or should I look at taking PSPO as well?

As I am not a fast learner I was thinking of counting 40 hours per certification (doubling your suggestion). Of course, if I see I am much faster during the first one, Ill review.

Many thanks for your help,

Marion

04:19 pm October 24, 2017