Skip to main content

PSM 1 Exam

Last post 05:28 pm January 15, 2018 by Curtis Slough
4 replies
08:05 am January 11, 2018

Hello guys , Just couple of days ago i did PSM 1 exam and unfortunately failed with 73.8 , I faced 2 issues : 

1.  English there was so many questions are subtle very subtle I think and i'm not a native speaker . 
  2. I do think there's something missing in my preparation . However , I studied the Scrum Guide many times , and I did the Open Assesment and easily scored 100 % , and I also did Mikhail Lapshin which it was very helpful . ​​​​​​​

So at the end of day having the Scrum Guide is not enough not only to understand the scrum in solid ground , and to pass the exam  . 

Please if you have any recommdaition it will very helpful , 

Thank you ..... 

​​​​​​​BRs 

08:53 am January 12, 2018

Hi Saleh, 

I haven't taken the exam so I'm not sure how much weight my comments carry, but as someone who's also not a native English speaker I can relate to your pain, and would like to share how I'm prepping for the exam. 

I've done some mock exams around the internet, and I found that many questions play on the wording very much, like who "can" attend the daily scrum and who "should" attend the daily scrum, or taking advantage of the fact that Product Backlog and Spring Backlog, since they're both "Backlogs", gets mentally confusing after a while. So I feel that not only do you have to have a thorough understanding of the Scrum Guide and not just memorizing everything, you also have to go in fresh and clear of all other distractions. 

Also as you said, the Scrum Guide and the open assessments are not enough to pass the PSM 1 exam. As far as I know a good portion of the exam questions come from Scaled Scrum, so you'd also have to study the Nexus Guide.

Hope this helps!

02:10 pm January 12, 2018