Skip to main content

Sprint goal obsolete

Last post 10:13 pm February 27, 2019 by Ian Mitchell
4 replies
06:01 pm February 27, 2019

Hello everyone. I am studying for the test, and one of the questions is when a sprint can be cancelled. So I know the answer is when the sprint goal becomes obsolete. But I dont quite understand the why? Any real life examples?

Also what happens after it is cancelled?

What are the following steps the team takes? a new sprint planning?

is there still a sprint review/retro after it is cancelled?

Sorry if I am asking too much, but I guess these answers come from experience, and I have none in SCRUM. 

Thanks! I am all ears!

08:20 pm February 27, 2019

Just my thoughts on the subject.   I'm sure there are many others.

when the sprint goal becomes obsolete... Any real life examples?

Thankfully, I've never participated in a true sprint cancellation.   There can be valid reasons for doing so though, mainly around value as managed by the PO:   

• Let's say the team was working on an application when management made a mid-sprint decision that they were going to decommission it.   Now, would it make sense for the team to continue developing something that was not going to be released, or would have a very short shelf life?
  • Or, let's say the PO realized they made a poor choice in their recent sprint offering, and there is a different initiative ready to go that has far more marketplace and customer value than what was offered.   Would it make sense for the PO to pull the plug on the current sprint in favor of the better option?   Maybe, but the PO needs to weigh the advantage of "stopping the line" as opposed to finishing the current sprint and introducing the more valuable initiative for the next sprint

Any incomplete Sprint Backlog items are re-estimated (remaining effort) and placed back into the Product Backlog.