Skip to main content

Scrum Mentors and Scrum Internships

Last post 08:39 pm February 26, 2024 by hiba noubani
70 replies
01:46 pm September 23, 2019

Hi everyone.

Just saw another post today, about how does someone get the experience to become a scrum master. Well instead of talking about it until the cows come home let us see if we can do something about it.

My idea: We create a listing of Scrum Masters who are willing (and organisations of course), to take on unpaid (or paid if able!!) interns on a one month or even longer time period to see how Scrum/agile works in practice and not just in theory. 

This would also mean that organisations would have access to possibly great talent at no cost?

What is everyone's views? Is this achievable?

Thanks, 

Stephen

01:49 pm September 23, 2019

By the by, this is how I got my job as a Scrum Master!

05:52 pm September 23, 2019

Hmm...interesting question.

Personally I wouldn't be interested in it unless it was taken to be a serious job. A role like this really requires committed support by the organization and with a trial period where it's easy to walk away when things prove too hard, is not going to attract the best talent. 

Scrum needs more than just the people doing the work, it would also need leadership support. Goal shouldn't be to try and find free resources, but instead to find great people. Great people aren't free, especially a great Scrum Master. 

If the intent is to create interest for the company to make an investment in Scrum, I would instead rely on data. The "State of Agile Report" via https://www.stateofagile.com/#ufh-c-473508-state-of-agile-report is pretty good.

05:54 pm September 23, 2019

If you want to instead mentor other Scrum Masters, they should work together and eventually try the Scrum Master out with a mature team.

08:48 am September 24, 2019

Hi John, 

Thanks for your valuable input.

I agree with everything you say here