Skip to main content

15 years of networking experience and in need of a change

Last post 07:02 pm February 10, 2023 by Abhishek Mukherjee
9 replies
08:39 pm January 10, 2020

Hello Scrum professionals,

I recently was surplussed from a major telecommunications company where I worked for over 15 years.  

My background is primarily Networking and Leadership. 

For the last 10 years I was a Team Leader for a group of Networking engineers and was looking to potentially become 

a manager. I am looking to continue my career and find the passion in it again.

I recently signed up to take the CSM course after reading about multiple positive experiences.  I feel that managers that serve their teams with assistance and support are able to produce more and work in a more full filling enviornment.

Do you feel that my 15 years of Network experience and Leadership coupled with this CSM training could help me resurrect with my career using Scrum/Agile methodologies?  

Thanks in advance...

01:52 am January 12, 2020

@ PM - Surely you can, if you want to serve people first, be a successful SM.

06:14 am January 12, 2020

Scrum Master is a great career path. Most of the Scrum Masters I've worked with came from a Project Manager or Business Analyst background. Not sure where you're located but almost every company doing technology is hiring a Scrum Master. There are three major Agile certification organizations (including Scrum.org). You should get the Scrum Master certification with in-person training from all three if you're able to invest in yourself.

09:39 am January 12, 2020

Do you feel that my 15 years of Network experience and Leadership coupled with this CSM training could help me resurrect with my career using Scrum/Agile methodologies?

Someone is bound to point it out to you at some point, so I may as well be the first. Neither Scrum nor Agile are methodologies.

Being agile is described by a short set of values and principles.