Skip to main content

Future / Career growth as an SM Vs Quality Analyst

Last post 10:45 am July 22, 2020 by Tim Moeker
3 replies
06:39 am July 21, 2020

Hi All, Before I post my query, let me thank all the authors for their blogs and forum discussions 

The Blogs and forums here helped me a lot whenever I'm stuck with an obstacle during the sprint window or while facilitating the events 

I have total 11 years of IT industry experience of which 9 years as QA Automation engineer and then switched to Agile path by doing CSM and PMI-ACP. 2 Years has been good and learning and knowledgeable. Can I take this stage and ask the experts about the future being an SM ..  The Org 'm working is in transit phase of transforming to Agile. 

However, few of senior industry folks whom I worked with suggested that it's always good to be on technical front / updating skills as the industry is running after AI, ML, Data Science, Blockchain  and RPA. So, advised to plan career as individual contributor > Lead > Technical Manager / VP than planning career as an SM.  But when I did my certification I was inspired by many Agile Coaches, Trainers who see the same problem in different view. 

I know this is something related to my aspiration but I welcome your suggestions / advises 

12:39 am July 22, 2020

This is not advice. It is my opinion.

If you are technical, you should think long and hard before you abandon that for a business (functional) role. True that as a technical asset, you have to keep learning and keep solving problems and some people get burnt out from that. Somebody I know really well was a guru at C until he suffered from sleepless nights over not being able to solve issues. Finally, he moved over to being a Project Manager and has been happy with his decision.