Skip to main content

PSM I difficult for non-IT folks?

Last post 10:21 am December 4, 2020 by Dennis Krügel
7 replies
09:42 am November 16, 2020

Hello dear community,

I am preparing for the PSM I exam and I wonder if there are any other community members who are not working in an IT-related field and have taken this exam. Was it difficult for you? If yes, what made it difficult for you?

About me: I am a marketing professional and in my daily work I am not confronted with the typical software developer environment (tools, practices, concepts, mindset and even human language). I want to take the PSM I exam because our marketing department is trying to introduce agile practices (huge learning curve ahead) and the certificate might help me in my career prospects in the midst of this envisioned transformation.

11:53 am November 17, 2020

If you read the start of the Scrum Guide, it states that Scrum isn't just for IT/SW development. It can be used in all kinds of situations.

Whether or not the test is difficult depends on how much effort you're willing to put into studying and doing open assessments.

06:49 pm November 17, 2020

Hi Dennis

As stated in the Scrum Guide- "Scrum is a framework for developing, delivering, and sustaining complex products" so it's not only for IT folks. It can be applied anywhere where complex products are created. In fact, "IT" is not mentioned anywhere in the Scrum Guide :)

Agile is (not only) about maximizing product value through experimentation (to choose the best approach or strategy), iterative delivery and collecting feedback as often as possible to adapt (so that you're focusing on the delivery of valuable features/components and not wasting time on things that bring very little or no business value) - all of this to increase customer satisfaction, which is considered to be the primary goal for Agile teams.