Skip to main content

I quit my job to become an Scrum Master. Please advise

Last post 07:18 pm July 28, 2022 by Rick Gilbert
4 replies
05:51 pm July 22, 2022

Hi everyone, 

I am a registered nurse trying to transition into becoming a full-time Scrum Master. I was first introduced to Scrum through my fiance' that is a Data Engineer at a marketing company. He showed me the aspects and basics of Scrum and I was interested in it. I received my CSM last year and then kinda gave up on it because I was afraid that no one would want to hire me with no experience and just a certification under my belt. Fast forward to this year I decided to commit to this transition and I quit nursing altogether at the beginning of June and poured myself into really trying to make the transition into Scrum.

I did complete an internship with a small company named Mastermind in June as well but due to economic difficulties, they were unable to hire me after the internship was finished. For the last month, I've been unemployed studying Scrum as well as Project Management, rewriting my resume, watching videos about scrum, trying to network on LinkedIn, and applying for countless jobs. I have received barely any feedback from the jobs except "we're moving forward with other applicants". 

I genuinely want an opportunity to get to an interview so I show my Scrum knowledge, communication, and willingness to learn. I have the support from my fiance' and he has helped me with my resume and applying for jobs a lot but he can only do so much.  I know it hasn't been that long that I've been on this journey but I really do want to make this transition. Can someone look at my resume and let me know what I'm doing so wrong. Im not sure what else to do please advise.

Thanks In Advance

This is my LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/katrelle-bond/

03:39 pm July 27, 2022

I just saw this post.  Sorry for not responding sooner.