Skip to main content

Change of Career

Last post 03:45 pm September 1, 2022 by Bianca Stratulat
4 replies
01:29 pm August 17, 2022

Hello everyone, I’m new here so please be kind. I have been a pharmacist for 10+ years now here in U.K and I’m looking for a career change due to one or two reasons. I have spoken to few people but I know almost nothing about the being a product owner (in software development), no experience whatsoever.

I read a little about it and I’m wondering if anyone can be so kind to give me a roadmap of the certifications I would need.

There seem to be a lot of specifications/programs but I do not know where to start.

•  Agile Software Development
  • Agile Scrum
  • Backlog
  • Jira
  • Releases
  • Written Communication
  • UI UX
  • Frameworks

I’m hoping to start training whilst still doing my pharmacy work. If there’s anyone out there with a complete career change of this manner? Please kindly let me know.

There are no guarantees that I’d be happy being in this new sector but I might regret if I didn’t try, also I have my pharmacy role to fall back on.

Many thanks

05:04 pm August 17, 2022

I know almost nothing about the being a product owner 

If that's what interests you, might it be a good idea to add Product Owner training to your list, perhaps at the top?

01:32 pm August 25, 2022

Do what your heart says and follow your passion. Even though you will be new in this field but you will learn with time and its a really rewarding and lucrative career. Best of luck!

04:45 am August 27, 2022

Hi Martin,

I feel you. I am a cost estimator and my background is accounting. I am also planning to switch career like you but I do not know where to start.

When I started my job as cost estimator I had zero experience but I learned along the way and master it doing for more than 6 years.