Skip to main content

Passed PSM I on first try - My advice on how to prepare

Last post 04:05 am October 14, 2015 by Andrew Lishomwa
11 replies
12:51 am September 14, 2015

Hello, I'm a MBA student with engineering experience. I did participate in daily scrum meetings during my first fulltime job, but I didn't know that it was SCRUM at that time. So past one week was my first time getting actually exposed to all about SCRUM. I took this exam because I have this particular fulltime job that wants SCRUM master experience PSM's standardized approach was more cost effective than CSM.

I studied for about 4-5 days. I received 90%. I personally believe that while having previous work experience in SCRUM will make the concepts more familiar, but does not guarantee passing the exam, so my advice to those new to SCRUM, don't be.

Here are the basic steps how I prepare.

1. Read official PSM scrum guide.
-Not many pages, but very concise and a good, easy read. I read it whenever I had a chance (while on the subway or while I'm at home). Becoming familiar with keywords and SCRUM framework are the keys for this step.

Feedback: Doing #1 alone will not let you pass the exam at all as the exam will not, almost all the cases, just ask you to define a keyword straight from the guide.

2. Try PSM I open assessment every single time whenever I had time and bored.
-At first, I think I received about 50-60%. I think I took the exam whenever I had time (at least 40-50 times) and I scored basically 100% every single time afterwards. Continue practicing it to the level where you can answer everything in 5 minutes and is indeed possible as the keywords and Q&As will be engraved in your head.

3. Try PSPO I Open assessment