Skip to main content

Product Owner without authority

Last post 08:12 pm March 3, 2023 by Andrzej Stepaniuk
3 replies
04:58 pm March 2, 2023

Hello,

I would like to ask a question just like in the topics title. Let me share the origin of what happens. So I work in one company for 7 years and due to the top management change they decided to follow Scrum rules. I volunteered to become a Product Owner, as I was really keen on becoming one in future. I was a sales guy before in same company, so I have knowledge about the markets, products, contacts, good interpersonal skills.

Chairman accepted that, I started learning the Scrum Guide, to prove my knowledge passed PSPO I, also few people from company made the same. So in one let's say path of company Scrum was introduced well. There are 4 POs, 1 SM and they see the benefits of agile approach after 1 year. Director of this area said he is super happy because he does not have to stick his nose into the development, he has POs for that and he is just getting the feedback from them, he trusts them fully.

In my part of company developers want to join the same standard, as it's weird half of the company is using new methods, half does not. We started making sprints, planning, dailies, I introduced Jira for two projects. I encouraged people to become POs so we can manage the development of products, but in my area nobody wanted to be one...

...because it comes to one person. Director of our area. He can go to developers and tell them that I have nothing to say, he is the best in management for 25 years and what I tell is bull**it, they must not listen to me, Jira is bad, Scrum is some artificial sh*t, he will be assigning tasks as always, he does not need artificial owner of the product, because nobody knows the market better than him.

He can tell me straight in the face that my position is meaningless for him and whatever I do, he will make my words worthless.