Skip to main content

Is this prep for PSM I sufficient?

Last post 07:08 pm December 31, 2016 by Conor McMeel
6 replies
05:40 pm December 28, 2016

I did a 2 day scrum mastering course 2 weeks ago and I'm currently on chapter 7 of:

https://www.amazon.com/Essential-Scrum-Practical-Addison-Wesley-Signatu…

I also have about 8 years scrum experience as a software developer.

My question now is, is it sufficient to finish the remaining 13 chapters of this book and then do sample questions? Is there value in finishing this book? Or should I change tact?

I want to take the exam early January as I'm currently not working and have time to study.

05:48 pm December 28, 2016

Here are the chapters:

Part I. Core Concepts
Chapter 2. Scrum Framework
Chapter 3. Agile Principles
Chapter 4. Sprints
Chapter 5. Requirements and User Stories
Chapter 6. Product Backlog
Chapter 7. Estimation and Velocity
Chapter 8. Technical Debt

Part II. Roles
Chapter 9. Product Owner
Chapter 10. ScrumMaster
Chapter 11. Development Team
Chapter 12. Scrum Team Structures
Chapter 13. Managers

Part III. Planning
Chapter 14. Scrum Planning Principles
Chapter 15. Multilevel Planning
Chapter 16. Portfolio Planning
Chapter 17. Envisioning (Product Planning)
Chapter 18. Release Planning (Longer-Term Planning)

Part IV. Sprinting
Chapter 19. Sprint Planning
Chapter 20. Sprint Execution
Chapter 21. Sprint Review
Chapter 22. Sprint Retrospective
Chapter 23. The Path Forward

06:27 pm December 28, 2016

Hello Conor

I cannot comment on that book as I haven't read it. However, I suspect that what you need to do is simpler than what may be contained in the book. In short:

1. Read the scrum guide. I usually advise students on my courses to read it every day for seven days prior to taking the assessment.
2. Take the scrum open assessment and the developer open assessment and keep taking them until you can score 100% in five minutes or less
3. Learn about burndown charts : http://webgate.ltd.uk/burndown-chart/