Skip to main content

Finding SM roles - my chicken and egg problem

Last post 11:29 am February 7, 2017 by Shankara Srinivasan
4 replies
12:30 pm February 6, 2017

Hello,

I would appreciate any pointers on how a freelancer could land his first Scrum Master role.

I am a freelance software engineer who has performed a number of roles building and shipping software over 12+ years. The more I learnt about scrum, the more I've wanted to transition to a scrum master as I found resonance with the philosophy. To this end, I got PSM-I certified with an excellent score hoping to signal my understanding of scrum.

I have tried and failed to get my ex-employers to adopt scrum, and had to contend with using elements of agile in waterfall environments. So while many of my tasks mapped to an SM's responsibility, I never had " scrum master" as an official job description. Recruiters don't seem consider me for SM roles as I don't have prior SM experience.Widening my search throughout UK/EU (as a UK citizen) and being willing to take a pay cut to be an intern/junior scrum master haven't helped. Would love to hear thoughts on what I am missing.

Thanks in advance for your time and for any tips.

06:29 pm February 6, 2017

It may be necessary to take an "agile PM" role in the first instance. That's what I had to do. I carefully documented the shortcomings of such a role in my CV. This analysis opened the door to more credible Scrum Master positions.

08:51 am February 7, 2017

Transforming your current/ex-employer to Scrum may be your first assignment. Don't think that the new employer is going to be easy one, you will face the same challenges so start your journey from wherever you are now.

11:27 am February 7, 2017