Skip to main content

Retrospective or Not

Last post 08:04 am February 14, 2017 by Sanjay Saini
2 replies
08:02 pm February 13, 2017

Hello Professional Masters!

I have been working as a scrum master for the past eight months. The team is geographically distributed team in 3 locations with 2 different timezone. I am at a location where I am the only 1 working for the team, and the other 2 locations we have team members. Me apart from working as a Scrum Master is also working as a QA in the same project.

Our is a 13 member team(ok, I know we should only have 9 at max, we tried different variations and we decided to stick as one team), we generally have our stand-up, planning, retrospective on call, and it works well to certain extent. And we have a 2 week sprint.

However, our retrospective is never productive and effective, and the recent retrospective, was the most dismal of all.

We have several problems here:
1) We are located in 3 different location- Not sure if this is really a problem
2) We never have seen each other. No video calls
3) Everyone is at the desk busy doing something else, which apparently I cant do much about.
4) People are always distracted, and think deliverable is first and second is the process
5) Cracking unwanted jokes.

I am all out of my options to the bring retrospective back on track and make it useful, and moreover, we have even decided to do away with retrospective, which I am absolutely against!

I am here, to know from experts, their experience and seek guidance on how can I take and make the retrospective more focused and get the most out off the team member, and make it more playful. I dont want to to be always talking, I want the team member to open.

Looking for some great ideas!

Thanks,
Ashwin

10:07 pm February 13, 2017

> ...it works well to certain extent

To what extent do you suspect it works well?