Skip to main content

Just been laid off - mass firing

Last post 07:06 pm January 8, 2024 by Niall Fallon
5 replies
03:32 pm December 29, 2023

Well, after hearing of some companies laying off agile roles, I never thought it would happen to me. I work for a well known large uk bank and just been informed that the scrum master role and agile coach role are being removed. This means around 1,000 jobs. There are also now only a handful of scrum master jobs available in job boards. Capital One has also just axed 1,100 scrum masters and Royal London made 90% of theirs redundant too. The agile landscape is changing it seems. 

I’m just grateful I’m also a software engineer with over a decade of experience too so will get back into that. 

07:28 pm December 29, 2023

Just been laid off - mass firing

The higher-ups are as classy as ever.

The agile landscape is changing it seems.

Have they achieved the outcomes they are looking for, and these skills have indeed now become redundant? Or are other forces at work?

11:03 am December 30, 2023

The rumour is that they aren’t seeing projects delivered on time and budget so agile must not be working. 

11:50 am December 30, 2023

The rumour is that they will use a hammer to try and drive in a screw. This is the behaviour of legacy institutions rather than challenger ones. The dust will settle on this, the need to innovate to survive remains.

08:40 am January 3, 2024

"they aren’t seeing projects delivered on time and budget so agile must not be working"

I also see this happening. In the past, and now again.

<rant>

Managers have heard about this great new thing and drop it onto their teams that this is their new way of working as of next week Monday morning - without the needed support; i.e. people who have real experience in it, both in what typically works and what doesn't.