Skip to main content

Changing Sprint Backlog

Last post 11:57 am April 9, 2017 by Wojciech Monka
2 replies
08:26 am April 7, 2017

Hi, I am currently studying for PSM I, and have a specific question re changing the Sprint Backlog

So, the basic premise is that a number of Product Backlog Items are selected for the Sprint Backlog, and that during the Sprint, at that level, they cannot Change (however, if the Development Team completes all items early, they can discuss with the Product Owner and address an Additional item - or at least that is my understanding)

When the Development team breaks down the PBIs into Tasks, the Tasks themselves can change, and only the Development team can do this. This may sound pedantic, but there are conflicting messages in some online material re the term "item", and in fact one sample question states that Items can change in the Sprint Backlog ! For the PSM I exam, I understand the Sprint work is specifically called 'work', not 'items'.

So my question is this - if a question comes up in the PSM I exam that mentions Items changing, I think the answer would be that this is not possible. However if it mentions Tasks or Work in the Sprint Backlog, then they can change.

Hope this is clear !

Thanks

06:02 am April 8, 2017

The Sprint Backlog is a forecast and a plan of the work needed to meet the Sprint Goal. The Goal should not change during the Sprint.

Why then would a team refuse to replan any part of the Sprint Backlog if doing so allowed the Goal to be better met?

11:57 am April 9, 2017

Hi Larry

This is quite interesting question. I comment it as I had issues with it during my studies.

First thing what you already mentioned is to distinguish items from work/plan.  

* Items - Product Owner order Product Backlog so most important/valuable items are on the top. Development Team decides how many items they can pull to the Sprint Backlog for the Sprint.