Skip to main content

Is technical training for agile Development Team the solution?

Last post 01:12 pm August 20, 2018 by Juan Prieto
6 replies
06:55 pm August 16, 2018

Hi all.

I've been working for a team for about 6 months, the organization was trying to implement some kind of scrum that makes me very nervous and the development team was new to scrum (I'm not the S.M), they see it's benefits but sometimes they feel they can not apply this framework in real life.

eg. during refinements we play scrum poker online to estimate and the guys in the development team that code the new functionalities do not get to understand why the tester is also estimating some PBI (I know there are no titles in scrum but this is to explain the context as they see it).

I've approached it from this perspective:

1.Ask them what would be their approach --> One answered that splitting the coding and testing estimations and summing them.

Of course I do not like this approach so I tried to redirect the situation by

2.opening the DoD in which testing is needed and telling them that if testing is needed for a PBI to be Done, the tester is part of the Development Team and asked them to forget about the titles, that scrum was about generating productive discussions to learn from them and that getting the opinion from somebody with another perspective could add tons of value.

While going home I felt like I had been to directive telling them to do it because it was written in a guide but not giving them the chance to think what not letting the tester estimate could cause so the following day I asked them.

3. In which cases have the tester's estimations has caused damage? and added value?

They were able to identify the added value of the estimations from the tester but they also found the "damage": the tester is hired by the organization and also de S.M and the P.O and they were seeing the tester as a mechanism of control to lower the estimations.