Skip to main content

Changing from 2 week Sprints to 3 week

Last post 02:34 pm October 22, 2018 by Eugene M
4 replies
02:18 pm October 19, 2018

Hi Folks,

First time posting so go gentle!

I am a Scrum Master on a large Media project with devs in Germany and UK, The PO is based in Germany too.  I am new to Agile since July and still learning but fortunate to be working with a very high achieving team.  Our bi weekly Scrum Events in London require the PO and Tech Lead from Germany to come to London and have been doing this for 6 months.  Last week the PO asked if in the new year we can change to 3 week Sprints and moving scrum events to Tues/Weds from Mon/Tues, the request is probably driven out of work life balance issues.  However I will try and establish what exactly is the driver for the request next week.

We are a high performing team at the top of the curve and have great flow now after 6 months, I personally will not support the switch although I do support the switch to Tues/Weds if this helps ease the balance.

My question though is, does the PO have any jurisdiction to change when Scrum Events happen?  From my POV I own the process so therefore surely I get the casting decision on if we change when events happen.  Or, do you offer to the team to discuss in Retro to agree any potential changes?

I know this will probably lead to more questions but fire away, any advice is welcome.

Thanks

Paul

03:37 pm October 19, 2018

Rather than seeing yourself as the owner of the process, think about how you can help the Scrum Team to take ownership of what is theirs. This means coaching them to inspect and adapt their Scrum implementation.

Broadly speaking there are three things to take into account:

1. the demand exerted by the Product Owner for releasable work, and for opportunities to empirically inspect and adapt the product in the context of its business environment