Skip to main content

Product owner and acceptance criteria

Last post 10:56 pm November 7, 2022 by Ian Mitchell
8 replies
07:27 pm August 19, 2019

This is my first time posting on here. I am a new scrum master in an organization who says they are using scrum. The problem is, it's waterfall stuffed into scrum events. The product owners are acting like project managers. We currently use a kanban board to keep track of our user stories. What I am noticing is the team treats the "In Testing" column as a hand-off to the product owners to go through the acceptance criteria. This can be a bottleneck. What are some ways I can help them get out of the "hand-off" mind-set? How do your teams check the acceptance criteria and make sure it follows the definition of done? 

07:48 pm August 19, 2019

** To clarify my last question: How do your teams check that the user stories have addressed and completed the acceptance criteria and the definition of done?

08:55 pm August 19, 2019

@Nancy See

What I am noticing is the team treats the "In Testing" column as a hand-off to the product owners to go through the acceptance criteria.

Consider if there is a better time like backlog refinement to validate the acceptance criteria instead of during a Sprint. The Product Owner and the Development Team members can agree upon this before selecting work into the Sprint during backlog refinement.

How do your teams check that the user stories have addressed and completed the acceptance criteria and the definition of done?

Not sure I fully understood you here but, if the work satisfies the conditions specified in the Acceptance criteria and similarly the Definition of Done, then the work can be considered done. It's kinda like checking items off a to do list and ensuring everything is working as expected. The Product Owner can work with the Dev Team to validate the work, similarly feedback can be received from the stakeholders during the Sprint Review. Hope this helps.