Skip to main content

Scrum Master - Common Interview Questions

Last post 01:05 pm June 16, 2020 by sunand sharma
9 replies
06:33 pm October 30, 2019

Hi all,

My name is João Henrique. I'm working with Scrum for more than 4 years and as Scrum Master for more than 3 years.

Recently I got my PSM I certification and just receive contact from a respected company in Brazil to have an interview to work as Scrum Master.

As I never did a Scrum Master interview (I was nominated scrum master of my team), I'm studying some common question and I decided to list it here.

I hope it can help someone in the future and also it can be a good topic for discussion :)

If you have any comments in order to increase this knowledge and help people to be ready for an interview, please, also comment here!

Follows all the information I could gather so far:

Experience

If you already have experience with scrum, try to demonstrate all knowledge, how you dealt with such situations, etc.

Example:

- How did you solve conflicts in your team?

- Impediments that you removed and how you did that

- How did you enforce the scrum or how did you teach it to your team/organization?

- Different retrospective methods you already used and which one was the best

- How did you help to create a self-organized team?

- What are the necessary steps to do to verify if the scrum team is following the scrum

- How did you solve organizational impediments?

- Do all your sprints have the same length? It is mandatory to have the same length? 

- If in the current sprint the velocity of the team was 80 story points and in the last sprint it was 100 Story points. If the P.O. asks why this drop, what would you do?

- If you had to remove one Scrum event, which would you choose and why? (trick question)

- How do you evaluate the scrum master role?

- What should the scrum master do when the product owner is not agreeing?