Skip to main content

Highlighting indivuduals in retrospective meetings

Last post 05:03 am October 2, 2017 by azhar osman
8 replies
05:39 am September 27, 2017

I have observed in my teams that mistakes of individuals are highlighted in retrospective meetings e.g Mr X has done this thing bad in sprint, Mr Y has done this thing wrong. While writing points  in retrospective document , they write a generic statement not highlighting individuals but during the meeting they criticize and appreciate each other.

Is it ok for a team to do this i.e. individual criticism and appreciation during retro?

I studied scrum guide for my answer but could not find an answer.

06:13 am September 27, 2017

Is any criticism received and acted upon constructively, and does the Sprint Retrospective - as it is presently conducted - help the team to improve?

What purpose does the "retrospective document" serve? Who uses it and for what purpose? 

01:21 pm September 27, 2017

Ian, as per my observations, yes criticism received is acted upon constructively and it help the team to improve.

What purpose does the "retrospective document"

Three points are documented in this document by team and is used by the team in next retro and during sprint as well for the improvements that were discussed in meeting.

Our retro document contains

-What should we keep doing (What went well during the sprint)

-What should we stop doing (What went wrong during the sprint)

-What should we start doing (What should we start for further improvements)

01:56 pm September 27, 2017

Ian, as per my observations, yes criticism received is acted upon constructively and it help the team to improve.

In that case, the current practice of "naming names" is fine.

There is a convention known as the Prime Directive, which although not part of the Scrum Framework, is commonly asserted by teams at the beginning of a Sprint Retrospective: