Skip to main content

Scrum crisis

Last post 11:57 pm October 10, 2017 by Ian Mitchell
5 replies
11:59 pm October 9, 2017

I have been leading a development team for about 1 year. We have been working on a web application but didn't have a dedicated PO up until 2 months ago. Our workflow was Kanban just picking up tasks from stakeholders directly through informal meetings, and loading them onto a backlog. We were ploughing along nicely delivering to defined milestones. The new PO immediately upon joining showed a casual disrespect for my authority in the team and positioned themselves where they started assigning existing tasks in the backlog directly to the team and myself (I am also a developer). When I questioned their role, and pointed out they should be focused on owning and building the backlog they agreed to manage the backlog in return for being allowed to come to daily stand ups. This became a bigger nightmare. The PO now expects every member to give them a daily update at the standup and gives out instructions and tasks in the standup which lasts 30 minutes per day. We have to stand around the PO and explain ourselves and answer questions about when our tasks will be done. I eventually blew up and complained to the senior management who being ignorant of scrum just shrugged their shoulders. I am left now with a PO that wants to wield full control of the development team, (refers to them as their engineers), answers to nobody and bypasses me when they wish to assign a task to a team member. You may think, is the PO doing this because I am somehow incompetent in my role, the answer is this behaviour started immediately on them joining and accelerated when I was on vacation for a week. Before that we were running a stress free workflow and delivering builds daily , now team members regularly have up to a dozen tasks assigned to them with arbitrary deadlines and I have no idea who is working on what. I am at a loss to deal with this situation the PO is a frie