Skip to main content

Help for a new Agile Coach

Last post 07:07 am November 28, 2017 by Olivier Ledru
6 replies
03:26 pm November 27, 2017

Hi

I'm currently a Scrum Master working with a single team, looking to take steps in my career towards becoming an Agile Coach of multiple teams.

I received my first 2 Agile Coaching assignments to help out 2 teams. Basically a couple of different problems they're having, around collaboration and working agreements.

I'm going to observe them for 1 sprint, and my plan is to facilitate a retro at the end of each sprint to target the issues I see. I've been introduced to the teams, and started attending their Daily Scrums today. I'm taking an observation and listening stance to observe how their events are running, and thinking back to to the issues that were brought to me, to see how those things might be targeted.

My question is this: because I've never done it before, I'm not sure if I'm taking the correct approach. Attend, observe, ask a few questions here and there, but not go into any teaching or advising stance. Then design the retrospective for those issues to be raised by the teams and also raise a couple of observations and recommendations there myself based on what I see and hear.

Would anyone have any recommendations on the approach? Is there a checklist perhaps you use for situations like this?

Thanks

03:59 pm November 27, 2017

What dependencies, if any, exist between the two teams? Are they working on the same product for example?

07:40 pm November 27, 2017

They're completely separate teams working on different products

07:40 pm November 27, 2017

One of the first tasks an Agile coach can take is to set up a coaching contract with the team.  It does not need to be elaborate.  Get the team's permission to attend their ceremonies, ask the team how they would like to receive feedback, and assure them that your relationship and what they share will be confidential.