Skip to main content

Can a scrum master share their daily plans during a Stand-Up Meeting?

Last post 08:46 pm January 25, 2022 by Ian Mitchell
9 replies
09:37 am December 20, 2017

Hi All,

I am a kind of scrum rookie, however with my dev team we are wondering whether a scrum master can participate during the stand ups just as any other member of the team, if that is what the team wants? By this I mean they would share their plans for the day, and it would be:

1. nice to integrate more our project family (we already invite our managers/product owners to the meetings, and we are fine with it),  

2. useful to be informed what impediments the scrum master will focus for the next 24h to overcome

Thank you for your help

Agnieszka

06:20 pm December 20, 2017

Personally, I would not be in favor of it.

The Daily Scrum is designed specifically for the Development Team to touch base around sprint progress and meeting the sprint goal.   Team discussions should be restricted solely to active sprint items (progress made, progress planned, and any issues), and this needs to be enforced (guided?) by the Scrum Master.   

Since the Scrum Master is usually not actively involved with any sprint items (unless s/he is working to resolve an impediment/issue), there shouldn't be any need for the Scrum Master to speak up.

Allowing others besides the Development Team to share their plans for the day risks turning the Daily Scrum into a status meeting, which is not the intended purpose of the Daily Scrum.

Perhaps another "management"-type meeting could provide such opportunities for others to speak, but the goal for the Scrum Master should be to keep the Daily Scrum focused specifically on Development Team alignment around the sprint and the sprint goal.

07:11 pm December 20, 2017