Skip to main content

Passed the PSM-I exam first time (96.3) using only freely available resources

Last post 02:22 pm May 10, 2019 by Hiren Parmar
20 replies
04:20 pm January 25, 2018

Passed the PSM-I exam today first time with 96.3% using only freely available resources. This forum was incredibly helpful so I'll share what I learned over the last two weeks since electing to pursue certification.

By way of background, I have extensive experience in software and product development and have worked in organizations with an Agile practice, but aside from attending Sprint Reviews I have not yet participated on a Scrum Team. That said, I did instinctively gravitate towards the Scrum pillars and values. If you don't know these, don't take the test yet :)

I read the Scrum Guide at a deliberate pace every day (4-5 times) until I digested it. Eventually the answers became less "I remember" and more "I understand". Not only will you not likely find success without doing the reading this way, you will likely miss the value.

The open assessments here are a good start, I would take both Scrum Open and Product Owner every day until you blow through them with 100%, but they are by no means sufficient. If you get any of these wrong you must reread until you know why, as they are a minimum qualifier.

For me, the critical link was http://mlapshin.com/index.php/scrum-quizzes/. This is free but I'll be making a donation, thank you Mikhail Lapshin!!! I scored over 95% on his exams three times before taking and passing the actual with around the same score. I can't speak to the pay programs, this forum recommends a couple which I have no reason to doubt, but I would be wary of just reading/watching everything available as the messages get muddled.