Skip to main content

Product Owner vs Scrum Master

Last post 07:40 pm February 8, 2018 by Ioan Marian Turcus
6 replies
02:54 pm February 6, 2018

Hi all, 

To my surprise, I am observing that the majority of people are going for the scrum master certification, rather than the product owner. 

As I am fairly new to the industry, I am wondering if you can easily slide from a scrum Master role into a product owner role much easier that you can do it the other way around from product owner to scrum master. 

Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated. 

Thanks !

07:18 pm February 6, 2018

That's a good question, I'm not sure. Personally, I like the Scrum Master position because it allows me the ability to serve my team more than anything. I truly love the coaching and serving aspect of being a Scrum Master and that is why it appealed to me more than the PO role. 

08:17 pm February 6, 2018

I am wondering if you can easily slide from a scrum Master role into a product owner role much easier that you can do it the other way around

I have been a Scrum Master for 14 years, but I think I would find it very challenging to maximize the value of a complex product.

08:36 pm February 6, 2018

Being a coach or being a CEO is not the same but both are very interesting, very challenging, but with a very different mindset.

You can probably have the skills for both position (I'll be more than happy to work with a PO like Ian), but to chose between a Scrum Master and a PO position depends more on your own motivations than you skills.

08:37 pm February 6, 2018