Skip to main content

One PO, one Backlog, one SM and two Development Teams how does it work?

Last post 11:47 am February 16, 2018 by Marcel Zebrowski
3 replies
01:08 pm February 15, 2018

Hi all,

I'm new to scrum and currently I do my preparation to my first exam (PSM1) and have a question about the situation when two Development Teams works together to deliver the highest value in form of an integrated increment for one product.

This situation does not fit in to the Nexus Framework because there we need three ore more Dev Teams. 

I have no idea how the Dev Teams works together in the sprint planing meeting or how they do a retrospective meeting. 

Who is responsible to pull the PBI's from the prodcut backlog to the specific sprint backlog of the respective team?

Who did the refinement?

I hope you can give me some hints or resources where I can go deeper.

Best regards

Marcel

07:40 am February 16, 2018

Hi Marcel,

I believe the reason why Nexus is said to apply only to three or more teams is because two teams will likely find less wasteful ways to work together, e.g. they might not need an Integration team to keep track of their dependencies, seeing as there's only two teams.

Who is responsible to pull the PBI's from the prodcut backlog to the specific sprint backlog of the respective team?

The Scrum Guide has the answer as to who pulls PBI into a specific team's backlog. ;-)

Who did the refinement?

Refinement should generally be done by the team which will do the work (or as the case may be here, the team likely to do the work). I've found the benefit of refinement is in the conversations it sparks, not so much the results it produces.

08:55 am February 16, 2018

It’s always important to look for reasons not to scale. Scaling brings its own problems, some of which Nexus is designed to address. The first choice should always be to descale organizational challenges so they can be dealt with using Scrum.