Skip to main content

Questions About UAT, Documentations and "phase"

Last post 04:52 am March 2, 2018 by Ian Mitchell
5 replies
02:18 am February 27, 2018

Hi All

I am new to scrum and have few questions about how to carrying out agile management.

1. How we address UAT ?

By the definition of done, the increment should be tested ( I assume it should pass ut, sit, uat...)

The scrum team should be able to complete the task and do not rely on others.

If I am working in a vendor, and obviously UAT should be carried by customer and no customer is in our scrum team, how should we address this?

2. How details should be the documentations?

I "heard" scrum do not need much documentation...

Do we need to include documents like FDS, TDS, and how details should be?

3. If the sprint is of four-week long, is it appropriate to separate it like

1-2nd : dev

3rd : SIT

4th: UAT

Many Thanks!

08:57 pm February 27, 2018

1)  What are some of your ideas for incorporating UAT within the sprint, in order to meet your DoD?

2)  Scrum doesn't specify how much documentation you should or should not produce.   You should create and maintain whatever level of documentation is needed in order to support the delivery of functionality each sprint.   

Keep in mind that the Agile Manifesto values Working Software over Comprehensive Documentation; however, that doesn't translate to a recommended level of documentation needed.   What is important is that, regardless of the level of documentation required, that it does not replace the conversation(s) that must take place between the Development Team and the Product Owner / stakeholders regarding the product backlog items.

3)  Whatever you do in implementing Scrum, do not approach your sprints as a mini-waterfall (phases).   To answer your question, it is not appropriate from a Scrum perspective to do as you proposed.

02:38 am February 28, 2018

Thanks Timothy

1) From the Scrum guide