Skip to main content

Help: External Dependencies & Teams

Last post 06:30 pm March 15, 2018 by Jeffrey Verona
3 replies
08:01 am March 10, 2018

I work as a project manager mainly with telecoms operators, and the typical situation I face is:

1. Dependency on software, hardware, and other components being delivered by others parts of the organisation or vendors as separate activities 

2. Dependency on teams and individuals outside the Scrum development team

What’re your recommendations and experiences to manage these with Scrum? 

My thoughts:

1. I act as Project Manger for managing delivery of dependencies from external projects and resources 

2. I act as Scrum Master for the Scrum Team for developing our Product

3. I help the Product Owner manage the Product Backlog external dependencies

4. I facilitate the Develoment Team working with external team members as needed

Erik

11:40 am March 13, 2018

What actually brought the team to Scrum in this case? Do they have a complex product delivery environment which they need to learn about, understand and stabilize, and does having Sprint Goals help?

07:36 pm March 13, 2018

It is difficult initially for Scrum Teams to effectively manage external dependencies.

The one item that helped me work through this with my teams is the following line from the Scrum Guide:

• Development Teams are cross-functional, with all the skills as a team necessary to create a product Increment;

My suggestion to my Scrum Teams is to not rely on "alignment" with other entities to hopefully complete work within the sprint time box.   Because it is critical for Development Teams to be 100% in control of the ability to deliver each sprint, we simply refuse to accept any items until any external dependencies are resolved or mitigated somehow.