Skip to main content

Sprint Planning duration

Last post 03:39 pm March 14, 2018 by Alfredo Alcantara
6 replies
05:58 am March 11, 2018

Hi to all!

First of all sorry for my 'stupid' question but I am really new to Scrum (knew what does it mean less that 1 month ago). I've read scrum guide, used such sites as mlapshin.com and volkerdon.com, read Roman Pichler's books and everywhere found details that the duration of Sprint Planning is maximum 8 hours. 

So the question is very simple: Why? Our company is also new to Scrum but we suggest we will have 1 month Sprint and due to this we are planning to have 2 days for  Sprint Planning.

Again, I do not want to tell that this is (8 hour maximum) is wrong but please explain me this. Thank you very and hope for your soon answers. 

10:14 pm March 12, 2018

Hi, Alfredo!

The duration of Sprint is max. 1 month. It means that you have just "mini-project" and in general you do not need to discuss everything about the Product at Sprint Planning. Suppose that you discuss questions which relate not only to current Sprint. In this case, maybe you need to have Backlog Refinement meeting. Here you may discuss requirements (I prefer user stories) for the next Sprints. 

12:09 am March 13, 2018

Hi Alfredo - Here are my thoughts on why Sprint Planning sessions are a maximum of 8 hours for a 30 day Sprint:

• Scrum uses time boxes (i.e Sprint Planning should take no more than 8 hours in duration), and does so for a few reasons, which I will relate to the Scrum values of focus and respect.  Time-boxing helps provide focus for the team, and lets the Development Team set a goal to get it done in 8 hours or less.  And keeping it to 8 hours shows respect for everyone's time.