Skip to main content

I passed the certification exam with 96.3% (77 out of 80 points). This is how I did it.

Last post 08:00 pm July 13, 2018 by Sreevatsan Ambur Naghasundharam
1 reply
08:39 pm March 19, 2018

After almost 6 years of experience using Scrum as a developer (or at least what I tought that was Scrum) and three months of daily study, reading and preparation, I've got it, I passed the certification exam with 96.3% (77 out of 80 well answered questions): I'm a Professional Scrum Master I.

I followed all of the suggestions given by most of the users in this community to get it, so I'm just going to give a brief summary of those:

• Yes, you have to read the Scrum Guide once and again as much as you can; you have to UNDERSTAND (and even memorize) every single phrase and every single word and its meaning in the context of Scrum. In my case I read it at least twice a week. 
  • Reading, understanding and memorizing Scrum roles, artifacts events and rules described in the Scrum Guide is not enough; you also need to understand how is Scrum implemented in real life in order to understand it deeply. The exam doesn't ask for implementation, but I think that knowing how is Scrum implemented helps you to understand better and deeply those concepts described in the Scrum Guide.

A good source to understand Scrum implementation is the book Essential Scrum: A Practical Guide to the Most Popular Agil Process (Mike Cohn and Ron Reffries). It teaches you the scrum theory (based on the Scrum Guide) and complements it with real life examples and scenarios. In my opinion, the Scrum Guide only defines the What and the WHO, but this book explains the When and the Why, and those (mainly the Why) are specially important to answer properly many of the questions.

Specially if you don't have experience by using Scrum, this source is a must in order to understand how is Scrum used in real life.