Skip to main content

What's the best way to deal with epics that can't be broken down?

Last post 04:08 pm March 23, 2018 by Jason Jafarian
7 replies
01:57 am March 23, 2018

I currently work as a developer on a hybrid waterfall-agile team, and we're slowly but surely adopting more agile practices, namely Scrum and Kanban.  We recently tackled a large task, and while we were able to handle it in our pseudo structure, it seems like a fully agile environment would have caused significant problems.

The task we needed to complete was to migrate an underlying system framework from one to another.  We could break this down into smaller stories focused on individual sections of the application, which could be completed within a sprint.  We could also break the tasks into phases, However since the system had no transition state, this would create a project with large chunks of broken functionality at the end of the sprint; hardly a "potentially releasable increment."

With the total amount of work requiring over 1 month, and the stories of the epic so heavily co-dependent, what would be the best way to tackle this in a scrum environment?  Do we change our definition of done?  Does the sprint goal need to change?  Do we commit to failure, planning a one-month sprint we know we won't be able to deliver on?  Do we go past 9 members, and create a Nexus for a single epic?

None of these options sound great to me.

02:03 am March 23, 2018

To clarify , no matter how we broke up the epic, the smaller stories or components of the application are all co-dependent.  There is no way we could find to deliver just one component of the Epic without the others, while maintaining a fully functional product.

The problem being, of course, that removing value from a product directly opposes Scrum's core definition of delivering the highest possible value.

(We need an edit button)

06:15 am March 23, 2018