Skip to main content

ITIL and Scrum

Last post 07:22 am April 13, 2022 by René Gysenbergs
7 replies
02:01 pm March 24, 2018

I was wondering how people in a heavy ITIL environment manage to be agile. For me, agile is about small, autonomous units getting 'stuff done' with the minimal amount of documentation. ITIL seems hot on process and documentation and many 'managers' (service manager, delivery manager, demand manager and so forth).

Any thoughts, guys?

02:26 pm March 24, 2018

I was an agile coach on an ITIL based  initiative a few years ago. The documentation was extensive. I blew the dust off some volumes to have a look. It was stuck on sone shelving behind the office Christmas tree, some tinsel, and some old unused binders if I recall correctly. It had been forgotten about for years even though they were notionally following the process. I left it there, they continued to pretend they were following it, and that is how they became agile.

03:34 pm March 24, 2018

Hi Ian!

Thanks for the insight, so basically you think the only way to be Agile in an ITIL environment is to 'pretend' to follow ITIL? :-)

01:44 pm March 25, 2018

ITIL based organisation can be Agile but will struggle without DevOps practices. Rather than spending all the time documenting rather spend time automating. Time spent wisely.

06:52 am September 16, 2020

It's very different in ITIL 4. Gone are the lengthy processes and paperwork replaced with practices. 

For example, the Product Owner would serve as the Change Authority in ITIL 4, which replaces the Change Advisory Board (CAB) from ITIL 3.

ITIL 4 now calls what was the change management process, the change enablement practice (it’s one of ITIL 4’s 34 management practices).

05:09 pm February 8, 2022