Skip to main content

Calculate Product Changing Backlog Rate

Last post 01:27 pm May 14, 2018 by Timothy Baffa
5 replies
11:14 pm May 3, 2018

I am totally new to Agile methodology and learning it. I have seen lots of tutorials and videoes and all very helpful. So, I have one unanswered question from my existing study. The situation is like

In beginning, there were total 100 story points. As part of Sprint 1, 10 are completed this 90 points are still remaining but 10 additional points are added.This makes again 100 story points.

In sprint 2, 20 story points completed but no further additional in any of the sprints so total points become 80.

Again in Sprint 3, 15 story points are completed and this story points come down to 65 points.  and the cycle goes on. By burndown chart, we can estimate some values like:-

1. Team's average velocity is 15.

2. In 8 sprints total 120 story points will be covered.

3. To complete the work it will take around 7 sprints.

Unanswered question

4.  Product Backlog changing rate (My answer is 65 but I am not sure)

If someone can answer this and explain the way to calculate that will be very helpful. 

09:31 pm May 7, 2018

Since Backlog Changing Rate is an unfamiliar metric to me, perhaps you can explain it's value and how you arrived at your answer of 65?

11:56 am May 8, 2018

A burn-up rather than burn-down chart could potentially make the introduction of new work a bit more transparent.

01:19 pm May 8, 2018

I use JIRA tool for handling my Scrum boards. I like to use burn down chart for a sprint view. For a project view, I like to use a burn up chart, which provides forecast on the end date of the content. 

I'm not sure I understand the meaning of "changing rate". If you mean to the amount of content that is added, the burn up chart has a nice view of when content is being added.