Skip to main content

Project Manager in Software Development Company

Last post 09:44 am May 5, 2018 by Olivier Ledru
2 replies
02:58 pm May 4, 2018

Hi all,

I am a fresh graduate taking on a role as a consultant in a software development company. My functional role would be a Project Manager. I have been doing a lot of intensive research about agile project management diving into agile manifesto (12 principles + 4 values) and how scrum is just one of the agile frameworks (xp, crystal, fdd, dsdm, kanban) After researching on various articles, pdfs, best practices, I still have some questions pertaining to agile project management (particularly in scrum) which I need professional advice with. Please hit me with your responses as well as any resources you think might be useful for me to read.

1) Moving away from the traditional waterfall approach (PMI-PMP) to the modern day agile project management (PMI-ACP), how do we go about doing the following activities:

a. Creating an 'agile' project charter (Would it be a generic document containing business case, project objectives, major deliverables, roles & responsbilities of team, stakeholders listing and assumptions?)

b. In scrum, the scrum team will decide which activities/user stories they will perform through a sprint planning meeting. In this case, how do I go about estimating a feasible overall timeline of how long the project is expected to complete across all sprints (like the traditional PM) ?

2) Based on scrum roles (SM, PO & scrum team), there is no 'project manager' and if I were to take on a project, which scenario would I be fitting into?

a. Hybrid PM (Product Owner + Project Manager)

b. PM sitting above SM, PO & scrum team

c. Hybrid PM (Scrum Master + Project Manager)

3) Assuming the client is an external organization requesting for web development services (from my company), would it be safe to assume that the PO