Skip to main content

Scrum practices to introduce to a skeptical team

Last post 02:23 pm June 1, 2018 by Curtis Slough
8 replies
06:24 am May 29, 2018

I am a software engineer in a team of three software engineers and a part-time designer. I've been advocating for a more structured approach to our workflow and self-reflection, often naming Scrum as an example. I've read a lot about Scrum (e.g., The Elements of Scrum, by C.A. Sims and H. Johnson), but have never worked in an actual scrum team. Still, the practices make sense to me, and would like to gently introduce them to the team, which they've agreed to. Basically I have a month to start with. Then we'll evaluate and see whether we liked it.

I would like some advice on what I should focus on and what I should leave out for now. Should we do story-point estimations? Should we hold all the meetings? (Might be tedious if we don't know how to use them well.) We'll have a board in the form of ZenHub, and I can script it to produce burndown / velocity charts. But other than that I'm not sure what is wisdom here.

There will be no scrum master, the product owner is one of the three engineers (who is also my line manager) and the person introducing scrum to them (me) is motivated but inexperienced. So it's a bit messy, but I believe it's the only shot we'll get at it.

Thanks!

08:47 pm May 29, 2018

Why won't there be a Scrum Master?

10:30 am May 30, 2018

My advice would be to read the Scrum Guide: https://www.scrumguides.org/  To get started the Scrum Team will need all three roles, enough "Ready" Product Backlog items for one Sprint (30 days or less), and a definition of "Done". 

Read up on empirical process control.  Understand the 3 roles, 5 events, 3 artifacts and the rules.  Don't cut any corners (google shu ha ri).  The Scrum Guide is not a 'how to' guide however.  Consider taking a course.  If you cut corners now, the Scrum Team will struggle.

10:47 am May 30, 2018