Skip to main content

Agile and Scrum

Last post 12:43 pm November 30, 2019 by Simon Mayer
11 replies
01:17 pm June 2, 2018

Hi

I guess I will ask stupid questions and really sorry for this, but honestly I am not an expert in Scrum and Agile and I am newcomer here. Due to this I have some questions:

1 - What is Agile? Is it methodology or more philosophy?

2 - How can we name Scrum instead of framework? Scrum is not a process, not a methodology, so what is this? 

04:04 pm June 2, 2018

Hi Alfredo,

Welcome!

1. I recommend reading the agile manifesto here, and then following the links to the principles, and about the authors and manifesto: http://agilemanifesto.org/
  2. The Scrum Guide refers to Scrum as a lightweight framework. Is there a problem with referring to it as a framework?

08:19 am June 3, 2018

Hi Simon and thanks for your answer. 

Regarding Scrum Framework, I mean the case when somebody asks to compare Scrum with waterfall. I think (it may be mistake) it is not correct to compare waterfall methodology with Agile, much more correct to compare waterfall with Scrum. But Scrum is Framework and waterfall is methodology. 

09:36 am June 4, 2018

Well, on one hand I understand what you mean. On the other hand:

1. If you read agile manifesto, you might notice that it sort of compares two approaches. But yes, it is not really specifically about waterfall. It compares philosophies. Waterfall might also be a philosophy.

2. Scrum is pretty well defined. Waterfall on the other hand might come in many, many forms. I assume some of its forms could be described in a document also as concise as the Scrum Guide. Or even shorter! Therefore, in this specific example, I would not really be afraid to compare a "framework" to a "methodology".

09:40 am June 4, 2018