Skip to main content

Getting confused on Nexus Sprint backlog.

Last post 01:51 pm August 14, 2023 by Jianhua Xu
11 replies
02:10 am June 18, 2018

SO, I am studying for Nexus and I am getting stuck on the Nexus sprint back log vs individual team sprint backlog as they are stating it. I am trying to wrap my mind around and almost there but the real-world implementation(how I see it) and as stated in the book are confusing me.

In 2012 I worked for a government agency we had six teams that struggled with this. We were doing scale sort of but not really, we just had a need for all teams to work from the same product backlog. Our product back log we had down no problem. When we did the sprint planning each team knew what was their PBI’s and brought them over to their own team’s boards. No real problem I just met weekly in the scrum of scrums which I led to discuss dependencies, impediments, and progress. I did have to aggregate 6 burndowns but no big deal.

In the book I bought the application does not sound the same. They are doing Product Backlog—Nexus Sprint backlog – then individual team Sprint back log.

My question is on flow – Are they saying in Nexus that once the Product backlog refinement has taken place the team Nexus sprint planning is pulling product backlog items from the Product Backlog – Into the Nexus Sprint Planning back log – then into each team’s own sprint backlog?

Here is what I am trying to say below I tried to paste a pic but it did not work.

Product Backlog (all PBI’s) --- Nexus Sprint Backlog (PBI’s pulled from product backlog in agreement with PO) – Each teams pulls it’s PBI’s from the Nexus Sprint backlog into their own Team backlog’s. 

06:28 am June 18, 2018