Skip to main content

Basic questions regarding Scrum.

Last post 10:10 pm July 26, 2018 by Chris Belknap
10 replies
06:47 pm July 4, 2018

Hi, I'm a student at a coding school and I'm just learning about Scrum and had a few basic questions :

1.what is sprint grooming and at what stage does it take place?

I'm more interested in finding out at what stage it takes place. I'm confused on that. Does it take place before the creation of the product backlog or after?

From my understanding, the sprint process goes like this :

1. user story

2. product backlog

3. spring backlog

4. sprint

5. a potential shippable product

So how does Sprint Grooming fit in that sequence?

2. Why does the Product Owner have to be a single person? Can a set of partners who own the same product be a Product Owner, or does it always have to be a single individual? ex. Bill Gates and Paul Allen - both are co-founders of the same company/product.

09:03 am July 5, 2018

Hi Semhar,

I would strongly encourage you to read the Scrum Guide in the first place. It will surely clarify all the questions you raised. Good luck in your learning journey. (PS: it's called Refinement, not Grooming ;-) )

10:58 am July 5, 2018

Hi,

Ditto what Nicholas said.

If it helps though, where I work, the product owner spends 'time' throughout the sprint refining the stories until they are happy.  Then we hold a 1 hour session for each week of the sprint, where we gather the whole scrum team together (and any relevant stakeholders) to understand and estimate items of the product backlog before we go into the next sprint planning session.

Cheers,

Steve

10:56 pm July 5, 2018

If it helps though, where I work, the product owner spends 'time' throughout the sprint refining the stories until they are happy

Would this be the stories in the product backlog, or the stories that have been chosen for the sprint already?

10:56 pm July 5, 2018

Yes everybody, feel free to keep posting comments.