Skip to main content

PSM II / SPS / PSD / PAL

Last post 01:46 pm July 27, 2018 by Huynh Thien Khiem
19 replies
07:13 pm July 23, 2018

Dear All, 

I have PSM I and PSPO I certifications from scrum.org and PMI-ACP from (PMI), and I'm looking to earn another certification (PSM II / SPS / PSD / PAL). I had read in forums that it's recommended to have SPS and PSD before PAL or PSM II, do you agree?

I'm also interested in having PAL, but i had read that it's recommended to have before PSM II, is it true?

I work as a Scrum Master in my company, so I think that will be more usefull to have PSM II than PSD for instance, what do you suggest?

Sorry for my lack of english, I hope you understood what i'm asking..

Thanks in advance..

07:55 pm July 23, 2018

Hi Pablo - Great questions, and you were very clear.  Everyone's journey is different, but here is my advice:

>  I had read in forums that it's recommended to have SPS and PSD before PAL or PSM II, do you agree?

If I was to pick one to prepare for, I would go for the SPS next over the PSD and PAL, especially since you are a Scrum Master and scaling knowledge will help you.  I would recommend that you take the free PSD open assessment a few time, though.

> I'm also interested in having PAL, but i had read that it's recommended to have before PSM II, is it true?

I took PSM II and III before the PAL.  I don't see PAL as a prerequisite for PSM II, and I don't think it is crucial.

All the best!

Chris

08:40 pm July 23, 2018

I agree mostly with Chris. I differ a bit on the SPS because depending your organization, you may not need or benefit from the scaled certification. If you don't use scaled scrum, the odds of you retaining that information after you earn the certificate is likely to be low because of the old mantra of "use it or lose it".