Skip to main content

Which Scrum certificate should I Opt ?

Last post 11:02 am August 9, 2018 by Eugene M
8 replies
10:18 am August 8, 2018

Currently, I am Sr. Business Analyst with 8 years of Experience working in India.

There is no classroom coaching available in my city and I am new to Scrum.org so which certification will be adding strong value to my profile and how to attend those training. Also, I am confused about choosing the certification from among ScrumAlliance, Scrum.org and Scrum study.

Can please someone guide me which is better and how to opt the best?

08:45 pm August 8, 2018

Do not do Scrum Study; that organization is a joke.

Scrum Alliance is good but you have to attend a training and depending on the facilitator; you may not actually learn much of anything. Not to mention the CSM is so easy to pass it's laughable.

Obviously, you're on a Scrum.org forum so you should expect people to encourage them. I'll encourage scrum.org because the exams are HARD. They weed out the ones that did not study well enough or the ones that just do not know anything about Scrum. I'll also encourage them because you do not have to attend a class in order to get a certificate, classes are available depending on your location but you do not have to take one.

09:09 pm August 8, 2018

I agree with Curtis  mostly. Beware of online training companies they are a dime a dozen and then give you a cert that is not industry acknowledge.

In this day and age, you can do a lot of self-study you have a world of material you can look at for free.

TOP 2

Scrum Alliance – I was a former Scrum Slliance guy but switched because I could take tests on my own time frame. I also did not like I had to re-certify every couple year’s.

Scrum.org – Real good material and you can self-study. I like the Scrum.org Certs better because you have to apply yourself to pass them.  You have to have a good understanding.