Skip to main content

What is meant by Scaling Agile?

Last post 04:12 am September 15, 2018 by Syed Shabid Ali
4 replies
05:02 pm August 30, 2018

There is a lot written about scaling agile including LeSS and SAFE but as I started learning more about it I think they are designed to solve a different problem than what I am facing.   Here is my situation.

I work for a company that has a lot of application teams.  Ideally we'd want to switch our focus from project to product and form between 100 to 200 Agile teams to do the work.  

I think that when most people talk about scaled Agile, they are thinking of grouping several agile teams together to work towards a common product goal or increment.  

In our organization however, our applications are very heavily integrated to accomplish many different purposes.  And for our projects the number and list of teams involved varies widely.  For example, for our company to launch a new product to our customers, we might have between 20 to 40 application teams working together, each with a small piece to contribute.  One team might need to add the new product to our mobile app, another team may need to add the product to some reports, another team might have some complicated business logic to perform around the billing for the product, etc.  And then for the next big project, we typically would have another group of 10 to 20 teams, some the same but some different from the previous 20 to 40 teams.   

In other words, we don't have big products that need continual improvements and releases like say, the Microsoft Word development team, or the Netflix video system team, or the Amazon teams that work on their shopping website.  

We have a number of front end channels (mobile apps, websites, physical stores, call center) and a number of back end systems that interact in a many to many relationship.