Skip to main content

Well ... I'm a bit "shocked"...

Last post 12:52 pm September 7, 2018 by Lars Devocht
3 replies
12:27 pm September 5, 2018

I'm here for a few days now as an absolvent of an agile-projectmanagement course with maintopic on Scrum.

Passed the final test with the full 100% and so my lecturer told me to keep on working and make the PSM1 certificate.

Therefore I studied the scrum guide aswell as I also did some of those open assessments where I reached the 100% aswell.

So i decided to give the PSM1 a try and got my key.

But in the test I realized: Those assessments are WAY beyond the level u need to finish the certificate successful.

There are many questions that do not appear in the Scrum Open or directly in the Scrum Guide.

It's not that I want to blame anyone for my failure - more a small hint: Please do yourself a favour and raise the niveau of the Assessments - it's a bit "illusioning" to reach the 100% mark there, realizing you reached and understood not even half of the knowledge you need for the certificates.

I will give it a second try in a few days ... now I'm prepared for this ;)

//MH

08:19 pm September 6, 2018

Hi Michael,

I don't know if the necessary knowledge on PSM1 is more different compared to PSPO1 that I passed several weeks ago. True is that knowing the open assessment questions by 100% is not sufficient. There are several tough nuts on crucial subjects in the real assessment which are not addressed fully by the open assessment or the Scrum Guide.

The key for passing though the questions that are not addressed by the Scrum training or the Scrum Guide is having some background knowledge on agile subjects, hands-on knowledge on business organizations and pragmatic thinking like a SM or PO.I don't know how far those points are addressed by the additional literature suggested by your trainer or the community here, because I didn't read it.