Skip to main content

What if one of Scrum's ingredients becomes an impediment?

Last post 01:16 pm September 17, 2018 by Claus Denk
4 replies
05:27 pm September 14, 2018

Hi all,

I am currently studying for PSM I and I try to get information from different places about agile and how scrum fits into the scheme. I just saw a video about how scrum evolved to something similar but different at Spotify and in the video they mention that at some point "scrum got into the way". At this point they decided agile > scrum.

This has triggered kind of a philosophical question in me, scrum beeing quite direct about implementing all events, artifacts, roles and rules in the framework. Scrum tells us to inspect and adapt. But what if inspection leads us to the need to question some of the scrum principles in our organization (for example when scaling as in the case of spotify)? Wouldn't this mean some sort of breakout from scrum, induced by scrum (inspect & adapt)? Or is there some silent "inspect & adapt but never leave the framework" rule? 

Second question: Could this, at some point, lead to an agile method/framework that adapts itself to the company where it started?

10:44 pm September 14, 2018

When you deviate from the Scrum Guide, you are no longer doing Scrum. However, that doesn't mean what you are doing is wrong, bad, or not agile. It simply means you aren't doing Scrum and you shouldn't tell others that you are doing Scrum. So it's entirely possible to inspect and adapt your process and decide that you should do something that isn't Scrum because it's right for your team and your organization. However, at that point, you may be on your own, but that may be fine.