Skip to main content

Does Ken and Jeff's Scrum Guide book give flexibility to modify Scrum?

Last post 02:51 pm October 9, 2018 by Eugene M
8 replies
03:20 pm September 21, 2018

Hi, I'm new to the agile approach and Scrum in particular. Recently I've read the Ken Schwaber & Jeff Sutherland's 2017 Scrum Guide book and notice that the there's a statement :

Scrum is not a process, technique, or definitive method. Rather, it is a framework within which you can employ various processes and techniques.

I know that Scrum is a framework, not a strict step-by-step methodology. But then again, I read many forums and blogs and most of them don't recommend to modify the Scrum. Does the quote above (which taken from the book) imply that the creator encourages us to play around and modify it as necessary? If it so, how far can I go?

06:37 pm September 21, 2018

The Scrum Guide says:

“Scrum’s roles, events, artifacts, and rules are immutable and although implementing only parts of Scrum is possible, the result is not Scrum. Scrum exists only in its entirety and functions well as a container for other techniques, methodologies, and practices.”

10:52 pm September 21, 2018

Understand and embrace the Scrum Values. They are mentioned in the Scrum Guide.

Also understand that Scrum is about empiricism, which relies on transparency, inspection, and adaptation.

Understand the section of the Scrum Guide that Ian quoted above. If you don't follow the rules of the Scrum Guide, it might be the right thing to do, but then it's not Scrum.

With all that in mind, Scrum encourages you to inspect and adapt as much as it makes sense, whilst keeping within the framework defined in the Scrum Guide.

01:51 am September 22, 2018

Scrum is a Framework, not a Process, within which you can employ various processes and techniques. Even for teams in the same organization, the Scrum processes they practice are not exactly the same.