Skip to main content

Failed sprint: pause, redo, other?

Last post 05:54 pm December 30, 2019 by Daniel Wilhite
9 replies
09:26 pm November 13, 2018

A SCRUM approach was recently used at our organization to scope and implement a major system development and data migration initiative.

Sprint 5, preparation of migration data, resulted in major failure. Data was dirty; inaccurate and inconsistent, needed to be cleaned up but wasn't.

Despite a failed sprint that would directly impact all subsequent sprints, it was decided to continue.

Months later, the overall project goals were no met (because of sprint 5). The plan is to start the whole process over from sprint 5.

I am by no means a SCRUM expert, but this cannot be the appropriate approach. The time and resources wasted moving forward without fixing the failure is significant.

There must be a pause or redo in SCRUM? 

Comments and guidance welcome.

09:40 pm November 13, 2018

Create a new entry in the sprint backlog and assign it the highest priority so it gets resolved before getting to sprints involving importing data from sprint 5?

11:19 pm November 13, 2018

Scrum is based on doing work that is in the Product Backlog and ordered by the Product Owner.  If you really are doing Scrum, then it appears that the Product Owner was ok with moving towards the result you have now.  

But to be honest, from the way you described it, it sounds more like you are doing old style project management using time-boxed iterations.  If you had been doing Scrum, at sprint 5 you would have inspected and adapted your work to accommodate the new information found about the data instead of just moving along. With real Scrum you would not be in the position you are now because it would have been handled much earlier in the cycle.

There must be a pause or redo in SCRUM?