Skip to main content

Content of product backlog

Last post 08:03 pm November 16, 2018 by Ian Mitchell
6 replies
11:53 am November 16, 2018

Hello, I'm very new to scrum and our team is considering adopting. We have some differences of opinion about the structure & content of the product backlog. Should the PB contain purely items which are functional requirements/enhancements to the product which the DEV team disaggregate into tasks at each sprint plannning session according to the agreed DoD OR should the PB include tasks required, examples could be collation of requirements, sign-off from security colleagues, UAT from product testers outside of the DEV team etc etc?

03:01 pm November 16, 2018

The product backlog should contain everything related to one product (stories, bugs, tasks, non functional items, etc). Regardless of how many teams work on that product, or how many people are involved, as long as it's related to one particular product, they'll all be put on the backlog.

With this in mind, you may want to have a limited number of people (PO, DT, SM) with permissions to "write" on the backlog, with all others with a "view" only. note the PO would be the only one responsible, and they would order the backlog as they see fit.  

03:24 pm November 16, 2018

Should the PB contain purely items which are functional requirements/enhancements to the product which the DEV team disaggregate into tasks at each sprint plannning session according to the agreed DoD OR should the PB include tasks required, examples could be collation of requirements, sign-off from security colleagues, UAT from product testers outside of the DEV team etc etc?

Why would the sign-off and UAT activities you describe not form part of the Definition of Done and be completed by people wholly within the Development Team?

03:56 pm November 16, 2018