Skip to main content

Scrum Master and Forming teams

Last post 01:35 pm December 10, 2018 by Robert Shandley
8 replies
02:58 pm December 7, 2018

Hi,

I already wrote few times in past month and thank you for feedback all gave me a direction. My situation is that i am new in SM role (did the certifications, read-ed several books on SCRUM and Kanban) and now i am in a challenge of being a servant to two newly formed teams each unique in there way.

• If team is switching project alot (every month) should i do DoR, DoD regardless of stable long term project and adjust definitions on the way?
  • How to handle dominant person challenging and undermining my role as scrum master? 
  • Once on daily, PO stopped the conversation between two devs as they went technical, should i ignore first time and second time say this should not 

be done by you, you are only observant ?
  • Related to above do scrum master give first time free pass or no free pass, immediate talk and discuss?
  • How can scrum master teach agile values and ways between the sprint as people are focused and starring hard on the monitors, ignoring all around, when they go for coffee they care less?

One last big question, how do your days as scrum master look like in one iteration (what do you do and why), exclude events planning and facilitating ?

02:59 pm December 7, 2018

... and best tips how to start with forming teams?

03:54 pm December 7, 2018

I have had similar situations and I'll answer to each one separately. It is going to be long because unlike @Ian, I can't give short answers that mean anything useful.  

If team is switching project alot (every month) should i do DoR, DoD regardless of stable long term project and adjust definitions on the way?