Skip to main content

Agile Costings/Estimation

Last post 03:36 pm December 14, 2018 by Daniel Wilhite
2 replies
09:56 am December 12, 2018

Hello Everyone!

My name's Abbie and I'm a student at the university of Gloucestershire studying Business Computing. I'm currently writing my dissertation on agile project costings. I'm investigating the customer's demand of wanting agile cost estimations prior to development/up front (although, not agile) over a sprint by sprint basis. The end goal is to create a flowchart detailing an agile costing method to assist organisations with agile estimations.

I'm looking to interview 3-5 people about their experience with agile costings such as how do you currently estimate/cost, what tools do you use, do your customers want upfront cost, or was it a challenge to change their mindset etc. The interviews will be approximately 30 minutes to 1 hour via Skype, or face to face if preferred and within the South West area. Interviews are looking to take place at the end of Jan/beginning of Feb.

No personal information will be record and you and your company will remain anonymous. The only information I would require is the industry you work in and job title (if you consent).

If interested, please comment below and I can discuss further details. I appreciate your time reading my post, and hope you can help.

Thank you!

Abbie

01:48 am December 14, 2018

The end goal is to create a flowchart detailing an agile costing method to assist organisations with agile estimations.

I think it might be best to reconsider your objective, or to focus it more tightly. An "agile costing method to assist organisations with agile estimations" may jeopardize empirical process control. Instead, stakeholders look to empirical data for any projections that are made, such as metrics and trends based on actual delivery.