Skip to main content

Less worst scenario in a Nexus ?

Last post 09:39 pm January 25, 2019 by Diarmaid Murphy
3 replies
12:20 pm January 24, 2019

Hello

We have a Nexus with 6 Scrum Teams. Each Dev Team is already "big", close to 8 or 9 people.

2 teams have a lot of dependencies in spite of refining the Product Backlog.

Should they have more time for Product Backlog Refinement (how much ; where to stop ?) in order to reduce the dependencies or is it better to merge the 2 Scrum Teams, creating a huge Dev Team of about 16 to 18 people ?

Any thoughts ?

01:33 pm January 24, 2019

I have limited scaled experience, but from where I sit, I'd say:

Should they have more time for Product Backlog Refinement (how much ; where to stop ?) in order to reduce the dependencies

I would say so. However the question I would be more interested in asking is: what dependencies are those that you cannot remove/fix after one or a couple of sprints worth of time? And are they feature teams or component teams?

or is it better to merge the 2 Scrum Teams, creating a huge Dev Team of about 16 to 18 people ?

I never recommend teams made of more than 10-12 people, and they're already too large! 

01:42 pm January 24, 2019

Would it be feasible to mix the two Teams for cross-functionality and still keep two teams? As Eugene mentioned, Feature Teams.

07:07 am January 25, 2019

What type of dependencies are they?

If you have skills dependencies then you may not have enough cross-functionality across the entire Nexus. You may need to take a hit on velocity for a few Sprints to train and upskill some people from all teams.